• Contact


    Have a question? Email Me!
  • Get Social

  • Categories

  • Blog Archives

  • Header Photo Credit

    The Jubilee Singers. (1875). Image courtesy of the New York Public Library.

An Experiment

This is an experiment. This morning, I took a trip to the Tennessee State Library and Archives and while there, came across a black newspaper that had been published here in Nashville the first half of the 1900s. As I am already doing some indexing of another newspaper, Plymouth NC’s The Roanoke Beacon, I immediately became interested in this newspaper. Why? Because I have been looking for a project to contribute to the genealogical cause for Nashville and the ability to focus on a publication that was for and by blacks highly appeals to me.

However, the idea of starting another database is not that appealing to me. Entering the information that I find into the database is rather time-consuming and I’d rather focus my time on transcribing the content. So, I had a thought. I’d take my chances with Google (b/c I am a Google-freak – I love almost everything that Google does) and see how well I could leverage the blog system for this project. Also, as it is likely that I will not be able to devote a lot of time at first to this, this will give me a good way to see how much I progress and if after a year or so I’m actively going, I may consider switching to a database. However, I have faith that I’ll be able to get the level of granularity that I seek by using blogger, tags and google search. So, welcome, and please let me know what you think!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

