• Contact


    Have a question? Email Me!
  • Get Social

  • Categories

  • Blog Archives

  • Abernathy Alexander Anderson Bailey Bedford Birkeen Blackwell Boger Booker Boyd Brady Brown Cannon Carter Coleman Copeland Davis Dixon Eason Elam Ewing Ferguson Garrett Greer Hampton Harris Hightower Hill Howell Hunter Jackson Jenkins Jordan Keeble King Lowe Mason Maxwell McChristian McClain McKissack McNairy Merrell Miller Mitchell Moore Morrell Murphy Napier North Page Prince Herman Ransom Reed Reynolds Riley Sample Scales Scott Sheppard Sims Smith Stephens Steward Stewart Taylor Tears Thompson Utley Watkins Webb White Williams Wilson Winfrey
  • Header Photo Credit

    The Jubilee Singers. (1875). Image courtesy of the New York Public Library.

Visiting Fisk

At the end of June/beginning of July, I was on vacation and my family and I did various things around Nashville – one of those items being a trip to Fisk University.  My husband wanted the kids to see the HBCU campus and we talked throughout the day about the importance of education.  I found the trip very rewarding, for it has helped solidify my interest in blacks in Nashville and helped me further appreciate the rich history here in town.  I blogged about our trip on my main blog.

It was neat to walk the campus and hear the history, and hear many names that I’ve learned of through my activity on this blog.  For example,  now that I’ve seen and been inside the Fisk Memorial Chapel and learned of it’s history, it makes it easier to place stories like the report on the Merchant of Venice production in a more real setting.

I hope to continue to learn even more as I continue this project.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment